Lion Sands Tinga Lodge

Classic family river lodge · Lion Sands, Kruger bank of the Sabie River near Skukuza · MORE Collection (Lion Sands)

Top-end Inside the park Safari company

One of four Lion Sands lodges run by the MORE Collection, a privately held Johannesburg group. Lion Sands spans both the Sabi Sand and Kruger along 10.5 km of the Sabie River, and Tinga is one of its two Kruger-side lodges by long industry convention and the group's concession company; the lodge page itself says only Lion Sands Game Reserve. Nine suites have private plunge pools, and the Hinkwenu Villa sleeps six. Tinga is the family lodge: children from 6, at half the adult rate up to 15, with a Creative Lab, while walks are for 16 and over. From $1,953 per person sharing. Choose it for a family stay on the Sabie.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Children from 6 at half the adult rate
  • Private plunge pools
  • Treehouse sleep-outs bookable
  • Sabie River frontage

Cons

  • The lodge page says Lion Sands, not Kruger, so the boundary rests on convention
  • Inclusions not stated on the pages read
  • Walks only for 16 and over
  • Rates shown in dollars and change by date

What's here

  • Family rooms

Arranged from the lodge:

  • Game drives
  • Guided walks
  • Community visits

Read from Lion Sands Tinga Lodge's own website in July 2026. Anything not listed we could not confirm, which is not the same as it being absent.

What the park charges on top

The rate above buys you a bed. Kruger National Park charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.

Park entryR602 per international adult per day at USD 1 = ZAR 16.65 (6 Oct 2026); R692, about $42, from 1 Nov 2026.
$36per person, per day

Three nights means three days inside, so two adults pay $216 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.

SANParks charges no vehicle fee for private cars at Kruger.

Almost every private lodge inside Kruger excludes the SANParks conservation fee from its rate, so you pay it on top for each night.

The full fee schedule for Kruger National Park

Rates at Lion Sands Tinga Lodge

From $1,953 pppn. From $1,953 per person per night sharing, valid until 19 December 2026 (Lion Sands rates page on more.co.za, read 6 October 2026). Children 6 to 15 pay 50 percent of the adult sharing rate. Hinkwenu Villa from $9,600 a night for exclusive use. Inclusions were not stated on the pages read, and neither was the treatment of the SANParks conservation fee.

What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.

Every figure on this page is in US dollars.

Rates checked 6 October 2026 and converted at R16.65 to the US dollar (rate of that date); re-check before you book. SANParks does not print its unit rates online, so every SANParks figure here is a reseller rate from krugerpark.co.za (Siyabona Africa) for 1 November 2026 to 31 October 2027, quoted per unit and shown per person for two sharing. Private lodge figures come from each lodge's own rate page unless the entry says reseller. The SANParks conservation fee is extra almost everywhere: R602 (about $36) per international adult per day until 31 October 2026, R692 (about $42) from 1 November 2026.

Official website ↗

Questions about Lion Sands Tinga Lodge

Is Lion Sands Tinga inside Kruger?

On the Kruger side of Lion Sands, by long industry convention and the group's concession company. The lodge page itself says only that it is in Lion Sands Game Reserve. Lion Sands River Lodge and Ivory Lodge are in the Sabi Sand, outside the park.

What age can children be at Tinga?

From 6, by the MORE rates page, with children 6 to 15 at half the adult sharing rate. Walks are for guests 16 and older.

What does Tinga cost?

From $1,953 per person sharing, valid until 19 December 2026 (MORE rates page). The Hinkwenu Villa is from $9,600 a night for exclusive use.

A safari guide by the river
A guide beside a game-drive vehicle at an airstrip

Your enquiry goes to a safari specialist

Reply usually within a day or two

They check availability and rates with Lion Sands Tinga Lodge and reply to you directly.

  • No booking fee
  • Reply usually within a day or two
  • Nothing booked until you say so

Ask about dates and rates at Lion Sands Tinga Lodge

From $1,953 pppn

Free, no obligation

Step 1 of 5. What are you looking for?

Pick any that fit.