Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
Thatched rondavels and safari base · Phalaborwa, 1 km from Phalaborwa Gate · Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
A rondavel lodge in 9 hectares of gardens just 1 km from Phalaborwa Gate, the gate for Letaba, Olifants and Mopani and for Phalaborwa's Gateway airport. The lodge says it has run in Phalaborwa for almost three decades. It is outside the park, so you pay the conservation fee each day you drive in. Standard rondavels for two start at R3,300, room only, with family rondavels for four and packages that add dinner and activities. The site does not say whether rates are per room or per person. Choose it if SANParks camps in the centre-north are full. Ownership is not stated.
Pros and cons
Pros
- 1 km from Phalaborwa Gate
- Family rondavels for four
- Near Phalaborwa airport
- Packages with activities available
Cons
- Outside the park: conservation fee on every entry
- Rate basis not stated on the site
- Ownership not stated
What's here
- Family rooms
Read from Sefapane Lodge and Safaris's own website in July 2026. Anything not listed we could not confirm, which is not the same as it being absent.
What the park charges on top
The rate above buys you a bed. Kruger National Park charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.
- Park entryR602 per international adult per day at USD 1 = ZAR 16.65 (6 Oct 2026); R692, about $42, from 1 Nov 2026.
- $36per person, per day
Three nights means three days inside, so two adults pay $216 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.
SANParks charges no vehicle fee for private cars at Kruger.
Almost every private lodge inside Kruger excludes the SANParks conservation fee from its rate, so you pay it on top for each night.
The full fee schedule for Kruger National ParkRates at Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
From $99 pppn (rondavel for two). Standard Rondavel for two from R3,300 (own site, read 6 October 2026; about $198, or $99 each), which we read as per unit per night, though the site does not say so; Luxury Rondavel from R4,180; Family Rondavel for four from R8,360. The tiles are room only; packages with dinner, bed and breakfast and activities are sold too. Staying outside, you pay the SANParks conservation fee (R602, about $36, per international adult) every day you enter the park.
Room only. Meals, activities and park fees all come on top.
Every figure on this page is in US dollars.
Rates checked 6 October 2026 and converted at R16.65 to the US dollar (rate of that date); re-check before you book. SANParks does not print its unit rates online, so every SANParks figure here is a reseller rate from krugerpark.co.za (Siyabona Africa) for 1 November 2026 to 31 October 2027, quoted per unit and shown per person for two sharing. Private lodge figures come from each lodge's own rate page unless the entry says reseller. The SANParks conservation fee is extra almost everywhere: R602 (about $36) per international adult per day until 31 October 2026, R692 (about $42) from 1 November 2026.
Questions about Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
Is Sefapane inside Kruger?
No. It is just outside, 1 km from Phalaborwa Gate (own site).
Is the Sefapane rate per room or per person?
The site does not say. The Standard Rondavel tile reads from R3,300 for two guests; confirm the basis when you book.
Does Sefapane suit families?
It sells Family Rondavels for four from R8,360. We found no further child policy.